What is Instructional Design?

So, the name of this blog is called idexplorers, where the id stands for Instructional Design (i’ll use ID from now on), and we’re going to explore ID together. BUT, you might be wondering….What exactly is Instructional Design? What is it that I’m getting myself into? I know I would wonder too, and to be honest, that is something I am still wondering about too.

To be honest, even with a semester under my belt, if someone asks me what ID is, I will falter, because the term is difficult to define and it seems to have various other names and synonyms and also other fields that are similar. Not to mention, the definition also changes too. I mean, if you want to look at how definitions have changed throughout the years,  you can read Chapter One of Reiser’s work!

I digress. I think I will provide you with my interpretation of ID, based on my experience so far (which is a second-semester graduate student). By the way, I’m writing along as I go, so I apologize if my thoughts are a bit disorganized.

I want to say ID is both an art and a science of problem-solving related to learning, training, and educational content. It’s art because it is design–you’re trying to figure out a solution, where you might have to consider what you want to present, how to best deliver something for a particular goal (e.g. enhance learning), why you’re doing what you do (including the tools or technologies used), etc. At the same time, it’s science because those design choices need to be based off of learning theories, research and literature, and the systematic process of  analysis, design, development, implementation, and evaluation. And so in layman’s term, from my point-of-view, it’s the art and science of trying to problem solve for a particular goal related to learning, training, education.

 

One thought on “What is Instructional Design?

Leave a Reply

